Richard Dent headlines Black College Football HOF 2015 induction class

Wednesday November 5th, 2014

The Black College Football Hall of Fame, which honors the greatest football players and coaches from historically black colleges and universities, announced its 2015 induction class on Wednesday.

The class is highlighted by Pro Football Hall of Famer Richard Dent, who played at Tennessee State from 1979-82 and went on to be a four-time Pro Bowl selection with the Chicago Bears. The defensive end was a three-time All-American at TSU and is third on the school's all-time sack list with 39. 

ELLIS: Heisman Watch: Auburn's Marshall shines on big stage

Also on the list of inductees is former Pittsburgh Steelers defensive end L.C. Greenwood. Greenwood attended Arkansas Pine-Bluff, where he was named an Ebony All-American in 1968 in the Southwestern Athletic Conference. Greenwood went on to be a four-time Super Bowl champion with the Steelers. 

Joining Dent and Greenwood for induction are Roger Brown (Maryland-Eastern Shore), Ernie Ladd (Grambling), Ken Riley (Florida A&M), Donnie Shell (South Carolina State) and coach W.C. Gorden (Jackson State). 

The Black College Football Hall of Fame was established in 2009. Including the Class of 2015, the number of total inductees is up to 58.

The 2015 class will be inducted during a ceremony at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta on Feb. 28, 2015. 

Jack Jorgensen

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.