McElwain earns Mountain West coach of year award

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (AP) Colorado State senior quarterback Garrett Grayson was named the Mountain West offensive player of the year and Jim McElwain earned coach of the year honors after leading the Rams to only their fourth 10-win regular season in program history.

Grayson shattered pretty much every Colorado State passing record in his career. He's thrown for 3,779 yards and 32 TDs this season with a bowl game remaining for the Rams (10-2).

McElwain is the second Colorado State coach to earn the league's coach of the year honor, joining Sonny Lubick. McElwain is a hot coaching commodity after turning around Colorado State in three seasons.

Utah State senior linebacker Zach Vigil earned the league's defensive player of the year, while Air Force senior kicker/punter Will Conant was the top special teamer.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.