FILE - In this Sept. 6, 2014, file photo, Oregon's Marcus Mariota passes down field against Michigan State during the second quarter of an NCAA college football game in Eugene, Ore. Mariota goes into Saturday's Dec. 13, 2014, Heisman Trophy ceremony as th
Chris Pietsch, File
December 11, 2014

LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. (AP) Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota has won the Maxwell Award, given to the nation's outstanding player.

Mariota was presented with the prize Thursday night during the 24th College Football Awards Show at Disney. It was his third major award of the night. Earlier in the evening he received the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award. He was also selected as the Walter Camp player of the year in a separate announcement.

On Saturday night, Mariota hopes to become the first player to win the Maxwell Award and the Heisman Trophy in the same season since Auburn quarterback Cam Newton in 2010.

Mariota was chosen over Maxwell finalists Melvin Gordon of Wisconsin and Dak Prescott of Mississippi State.

Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron won the award in 2013.

You May Like