Oregon QB Mariota wins Camp player of the year

NEW HAVEN, Conn. (AP) Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota won the Walter Camp player of the year award Thursday night.

Mariota is the first Oregon player to win the award. The junior is a Heisman Trophy finalist and the front-runner to win that award Saturday night in New York. Also Thursday, he won the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award.

The other finalists for the Camp award are Wisconsin running back Melvin Gordon, TCU quarterback Trevone Boykin, Alabama receiver Amari Cooper and Arizona linebacker Scooby Wright III.

Mariota leads the nation passing efficiency (186.3) and has accounted for a Pac-12 record 53 touchdowns, including 38 touchdown passes. The junior led the Ducks to the first College Football Playoff, where they will be the second-seed and play Florida State on Jan. 1.

Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston won last year's Walter Camp award.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.