TCU's Gary Patterson named AP Coach of the Year

Wednesday December 24th, 2014

TCU head coach Gary Patterson was named the Associated Press Coach of the Year on Wednesday. 

This is the second time Patterson has won the award, the first coming in 2009. He joins Alabama coach Nick Saban as the only person to win the award twice.

The Horned Frogs went 11-1 this season -- their only loss coming in a 61-58 defeat to Baylor on Oct. 11 -- and won a share of the Big 12 title. TCU came in sixth in the final College Football Playoff rankings and will play Ole Miss in the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl on Dec. 31.

TCU running back Catalon will not play in bowl game

Patterson received 27 of 54 votes from the AP Top 25 media panel, according to the AP. Urban Meyer of Ohio State finished in second with 14 votes, followed by Mississippi State's Dan Mullen. Last season, Auburn's Gus Malzahn​ won the award.

Patterson, who has been the Horned Frogs head coach since 2000, has a career 131-45 coaching record. He was also recently named the Walter Camp Coach of the Year and the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year.

2:00 | College Football
What to watch for: Peach Bowl preview

Molly Geary

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.