Bosworth, Williams, Snyder lead 2015 College Football Hall of Fame class

0:59 | College Football
Tressel, Snyder lead 2015 College Football HOF class
Friday January 9th, 2015

Former Oklahoma linebacker Brian Bosworth, Texas running back Ricky Williams, former Ohio State head coach Jim Tressel and current Kansas State head coach Bill Snyder are among 17 new inductees elected into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Also inducted were former Washington offensive lineman Lincoln Kennedy, Texas Tech linebacker Zach Thomas, Florida wideout Wes Chandler and Nebraska linebacker Trev Alberts.

Bosworth was a two-time Butkus Award winner and All-America selection at Oklahoma, who was kicked off the team in 1987 after a positive steroid test.

Williams, another two-time first-team All-America selection, won the Doak Walker award twice and the Heisman Trophy in 1998. He held 21 NCAA records when he left school.

Tressel led the Buckeyes to the 2002 BCS Championship and Youngstown State to four national titles in the FCS. Tressel resigned from Ohio State in 2011 after he failed to report knowledge of his players receiving illegal benefits. Tressel is now the president of Youngstown State.

Synder, a four-time Big 12 coach of the year, has a 187-94 record in 23 seasons at Kansas State and has taken the Wildcats to 16 bowl games.

The induction will take place on Dec. 8, 2015 in New York City.

The 2015 inductees:

Nebraska linebacker Trev Alberts (1990-93)
Oklahoma linebacker Brian Bosworth (1984-86)
Arizona State linebacker Bob Breunig (1972-74)
Millsaps (Miss.) defensive lineman Sean Brewer (1989-92)
Pittsburgh offensive lineman Ruben Brown (1991-94)
Florida wide receiver Wes Chandler (1974-77)
Notre Dame wide receiver Thom Gatewood (1969-71)
Yale running back Dick Jauron (1970-72)
Michigan State running back Clinton Jones (1964-66)
Washington offensive lineman Lincoln Kennedy (1989-92)
Michigan running back Rob Lytle (1974-76)
Marshall quarterback Michael Payton (1989-92)
Kentucky defensive end Art Still (1974-77)
Texas Tech linebacker Zach Thomas (1992-95)
Texas running back Ricky Williams (1995-98)
Kansas State coach Bill Snyder (1989-2005, 2009-Present)
Youngstown State and Ohio State coach Jim Tressel (1986-2010)

- Scooby Axson

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.