SEC releases 2016 football schedule

Thursday October 29th, 2015

The Southeastern Conference has released the game day schedule for the 2016 college football season.

Next season will be the first to included a strength-of-schedule component to the the schedule. All 14 SEC schools now will be required to play an ACC, Big 12, Big Ten, Pac-12 or Major Independent team.

Each team’s schedule is made up of eight conference games, which includes six games against division opponents and two games against non-division opponents.

The South Carolina Gamecocks will take on the Vanderbilt Commodores on Sept. 1 to open the season. It will be the 10th time that South Carolina has opened on the first Thursday of the season since 2005.

The 2016 SEC Championship game will take place on Dec. 3 at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta.

The full 2016 schedule can be viewed here.

ESTES: What to watch for in Week 9’s biggest matchups

- Xandria James

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.