Clemson’s Dabo Swinney wins Coach of the Year

0:46 | College Football
Clemson's Dabo Swinney wins Coach of the Year
Wednesday December 9th, 2015

Clemson head coach Dabo Swinney was named the winner of the 2015 Home Depot Coach of the Year award.

Clemson enters the College Football Playoff as the No. 1 seed after finishing the season 13–0. The Tigers are coming off a 45–37 victory over the North Carolina Tarheels in the ACC Championship Game.

Swinney looks to extend the nation-leading 16-game win streak as Clemson faces the Oklahoma Sooners in the Orange Bowl, which serves as a College Football Playoff’s semifinal. With a victory, they would face either the Michigan State Spartans or Alabama Crimson Tide as they seek to win their first national title since 1981.

Cast your vote in's People's Heisman poll

Swinney has compiled a 74–26 record as the Tigers’ head coach since taking over for Terry Bowden in 2008. No Clemson coach has previously won the honor. He is the first coach from the ACC to win since Ralph Friedgen won for the Maryland Terrapins in 2001.

The awarded will be presented to Swinney on Thursday at ESPN’s college football awards show.

- Christopher Chavez

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide - from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Seth Davis, and more - delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.