Alabama's Derrick Henry poses with the trophy after winning the Doak Walker Award for the being the nation's best running back at the College Football Hall of Fame, Thursday, Dec. 10, 2015, in Atlanta. (AP Photo/John Bazemore)
John Bazemore
December 10, 2015

ATLANTA (AP) Alabama's Derrick Henry capped a big night when he won the Maxwell Award, given to the college player of the year.

Earlier Thursday night, Henry won the Doak Walker Award given to the nation's top running back. The awards were presented at the College Football Hall of Fame.

Henry rushed for 1,986 yards to break Herschel Walker's Southeastern Conference single-season record and lead Alabama to the College Football Playoff. He ran for 189 yards and was picked as MVP in Alabama's SEC championship game win over Florida.

The other finalists were Stanford's Christian McCaffrey and Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson. Henry, McCaffrey and Watson also are the finalists for the Heisman Trophy.

Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota won the award last year.


AP College Football website:

You May Like