December 10, 2015

ATLANTA (AP) Utah's Tom Hackett has won the Ray Guy Award, given to the nation's top punter.

It was the second straight year Hackett won the award, presented Thursday night.

The Australian-born punter became the first Utah player and the first from the Pac-12 to win the award in 2014. The only other player to win the honor in consecutive seasons was Louisiana Tech's Ryan Allen in 2011-12. Baylor's Daniel Sepulveda also won two Ray Guy Awards, but not in consecutive seasons (2004 and 2006).

Hackett, a senior, averaged a career-best 47.8 yards this season, including a long punt of 76 yards.

The other finalists were Michael Carrizosa of San Jose State and Hayden Hunt of Colorado State.


AP College Football website:

You May Like