Alabama wins 1st Joe Moore Award for top offensive line

The Alabama offensive line has won the first Joe Moore Award, given to the nation's best offensive line.

The Crimson Tide's offensive line, which paved the way for Heisman Trophy winner Derrick Henry, was chosen over Arkansas, Iowa, Michigan State, Notre Dame and Stanford.

The Tide's line returned two starters and developed into one of the best in college football. Senior Ryan Kelly anchored the unit as one of the best centers in the country. Sophomore Cam Robinson manned left tackle with senior Dominick Jackson at right tackle. The guards are redshirt freshman Ross Pierschbacher and junior Alphonse Taylor.

The Moore award honors Joe Moore, the late former offensive line coach at Pittsburgh and Notre Dame, and the trophy is a 350-pound sculpture that stands about 6 feet.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.