Stanford’s Christian McCaffrey named AP Player of the Year

0:57 | College Football
Stanford's Christian McCaffrey named AP player of the year
Wednesday December 23rd, 2015

Stanford running back Christian McCaffrey has been named the Associated Press college football Player of the Year, it was announced on Tuesday.

McCaffrey becomes the first player in six years to lose out on the Heisman Trophy but earn the AP honor. He finished second in this year’s Heisman voting to Alabama running back Derrick Henry.

The sophomore received 29 of 60 votes from the AP Top 25 media panel to beat out Henry, who finished with 16. Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson received 11, while Navy quarterback Keenan Reynolds and Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield received two.

McCaffrey finished the 2015 regular season with 1,847 rushing yards and eight touchdowns in 13 games. He added 41 catches for 540 yards and four scores.

Nebraska’s Ndamukong Suh was the last non-Heisman winner to be named AP Player of the Year in 2009, when he finished behind Mark Ingram for the Heisman.

- Kenny Ducey

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.