Iowa's Kirk Ferentz wins Bobby Dodd coach of the year

ATLANTA (AP) Kirk Ferentz has been selected the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year after leading Iowa to 12 wins and a spot in the Rose Bowl.

Ferentz, completing his 17th year, is the longest tenured coach in the Big Ten. He also won the Eddie Robinson Award, given to the nation's top coach in the Football Bowl Subdivision. Clemson's Dabo Swinney was named The Associated Press coach of the year.

The Bobby Dodd Trophy, presented by the Peach Bowl and the Bobby Dodd Foundation, recognizes scholarship, leadership and success on the field.

From 2013-15, the Iowa team served more than 1,500 community service hours.

Iowa will play Stanford in Friday's Rose Bowl.

Alabama's Nick Saban won the award in 2014.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.