Louisville's Jackson, FSU's Walker earn ACC awards

GREENSBORO, N.C. (AP) Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson is the Atlantic Coast Conference's player of the year and Florida State defensive end DeMarcus Walker is the league's defensive player of the year.

The ACC on Wednesday announced its player-of-the-year results following a vote of 48 members of the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association.

Jackson received 36 votes for both the overall and offensive awards after setting a school record with 4,928 total yards while also accounting for an ACC-record 51 touchdowns - 30 passing and 21 rushing. He's also set a league record for quarterbacks with 1,538 yards rushing.

Walker shared the FBS lead with 15 sacks, matching Boston College's Harold Landry. He had 17+ tackles for losses and a team-best 64 total tackles.


More AP college football: www.collegefootball.ap.org and https://twitter.com/AP-Top25

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.