FILE - In this Sept. 3, 2016, file photo, Alabama quarterback Jalen Hurts slips into the end zone on a 7-yard touchdown run during the second half of an NCAA college football game against Southern California, in Arlington, Texas. Freshman Jalen Hurts was
Tony Gutierrez, File
December 08, 2016

ATLANTA (AP) No. 1 Alabama swept the awards on The Associated Press All-Southeastern Conference team announced Thursday.

Freshman quarterback Jalen Hurts was picked as the offensive player of the year, as well as the newcomer of the year. Jonathan Allen took the honor for the top defensive player. Nick Saban was the choice for coach of the year after guiding the Crimson Tide (13-0) to a 54-16 victory over Florida for the SEC title and its third straight appearance in the College Football Playoff.

Alabama will meet Washington (12-1) in the semifinals at the Peach Bowl on Dec. 31. The Crimson Tide is the defending national champion and will be seeking its fifth title in nine years under Saban.


For more AP college football coverage:

You May Like