February 04, 2017

(STATS) - Former Northern Iowa quarterback Kurt Warner was selected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday night on the eve of Super Bowl LI in Houston.

Warner, 45, went undrafted out of Northern Iowa and played in the Arena Football League and NFL Europe before he spent 12 seasons in the NFL, most notably with his first organization - the St. Louis Rams - from 1998-2003.

He was a two-time NFL MVP (1999 and 2001) and Super Bowl XXXIV MVP after throwing for a record 414 yards in the Rams' 23-16 win over the Tennessee Titans. Warner also threw for over 300 yards in two Super Bowl losses - one with the Rams and one with the Arizona Cardinals. He appeared in four Pro Bowls and threw for 32,344 yards and 208 touchdowns in his career.

At Northern Iowa, Warner didn't become a starter until his senior year, but he made the most of it, earning the Gateway Conference's offensive player of the year award. He is still ranked in the top 10 all-time at UNI in career passing efficiency, average yards per pass and average yards per completion.

Also selected to the class were kicker Morten Andersen; running back Terrell Davis; safety Kenny Easley; owner, president and general manager Jerry Jones; defensive end Jason Taylor; and running back LaDainian Tomlinson.

Eleven other finalists were not selected to the 2017 class, including wide receiver Terrell Owens, who played collegiately at Chattanooga.

This year's induction ceremony will be held Aug. 5.

You May Like