By hollyandersonsi
December 30, 2011

The 2011 Liberty Bowl is just a day away. We're sure you have so many questions. We're here to help. (For an Xs and Os breakdown, check out Bill Trocchi's game preview.)

What's all this, then? The Liberty Bowl retains its Memphis location for the 53rd year and has held onto its AutoZone sponsorship since 2004, making it a very grown-up bowl game indeed compared to your TaxSlayers and TicketCities.

Where will this game be played? Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium, current home field of the Memphis Tigers and former turf of the XFL's Memphis Maniax.

Maniax? It might have actually been ManiAX, now that we remember. Don't say you've already forgotten one of the greatest graphical endeavors in upstart football league history!

The NFL would be a lot more fun if it adopted some of the XFL's spelling rules. We could not agree more.

When is it on television? Kickoff is scheduled for 3:30 p.m. ET on Saturday, December 31. The game will be televised on ABC.

Whom does it feature? Typically, the top pick from Conference USA versus a low-ranked SEC team.

What about this year? A weird to-do with the bowl contracts sent Southern Miss to the Hawaii Bowl instead, which consternated some people, but if this really is about the athletes, put yourselves in the Golden Eagles' cleats: Christmas in Hawaii versus New Year's in Tennessee? Thought so. The "winning" Liberty Bowl selectees are 9-3 Cincinnati and 6-6 Vanderbilt.

Wasn't Cincinnati like one weird tiebreaker criterion away from the Orange Bowl? Life sure is funny sometimes, isn't it?

Who will call the game? Dave Lamont, Ray Bentley and Quint Kessenich will represent the Mouse in Memphis.

What wacky activities will be on offer during bowl week? Two in particular caught our attention as not-to-be-missed attractions: a professional rodeo (although who wouldn't rather see the players compete in an amateur rodeo?) and the first AutoZone Liberty Bowl BBQ Bowl.

Please impart any miscellaneous knowledge you might have concerning the 2011 Liberty Bowl. Did you know ... Two Liberty Bowls have been won with the victorious team completing only a single pass? The squad was Air Force, of course, the years 1990 and 1991 and the opponents Ohio State and Mississippi State.

Stay tuned for more postseason FAQ sheets, and stay on top of a hectic postseason slate with our complete 2011-2012 College Football Bowl Schedule

You May Like