Rutgers Athletic Bowl REEEEMAAAATCH; more Designated Reads

Tuesday December 4th, 2012

We would like to politely request at this time that all footage of the 2012 Rutgers Athletic Bowl adhere to these same retro production values. For continuity, you see.

• Assorted trophy happenings. Your 2012 Heisman finalists, who are somehow still not called "Heis-men," which will apparently never be satisfactorily explained: Johnny Manziel, Manti Te'o and Collin Klein. Klein has also been bestowed with the Johnny Unitas Award, and Te'o with the Nagurski Trophy. In non-Heis-men news, Notre Dame's Bob Diaco is the 2012 Broyles Award winner, and Matt McGloin takes home the Burlsworth Award.

• Roster blotter. Good news: Joker Phillips has joined Will Muschamp's Florida staff as receivers coach and recruiting coordinator. Not good news, via Andy Bitter: "Two Virginia Tech football players were arrested after a small explosive device was detonated in Blacksburg Sunday night, resulting in their suspension from the team."

• Report card time. Penn State's Athletics Integrity Monitor praises the culture changes underway in Happy Valley.

Bowltyme! the best postseason game Twitter feeds
SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.