Maxwell Award unveils 2013 watch list

Monday July 8th, 2013

Jadeveon Clowney Jadeveon Clowney was one of 76 players listed on the 2013 Maxwell Award watch list. (The State/MCT/Getty Images)

By Zac Ellis

The Maxwell Award, given annually to the player of the year in college football, unveiled its watch list for the 2013 season on Monday.

Seventy-six players made the cut, including several notables: Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel, South Carolina's Jadeveon Clowney, Alabama's AJ McCarron and Ohio State's Braxton Miller were among those listed.

Former Notre Dame linebacker and 2012 Heisman runner-up Manti Te'o took home the award last year, becoming the first player to win the Maxwell and Bednarik awards in the same season. The Bednarik Award honors the nation's top defensive player and is also given out by the Maxwell Football Club.

The winner of the 2013 Maxwell Award will be announced at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Dec. 12. The full watch list is included below, but keep in mind -- the unexpected is often what makes college football so great.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.