SEC announces bowl partnerships beginning in the 2014 season

Monday August 12th, 2013

Florida's Trey Burton The SEC will participate in the Sugar and Orange bowls (in selected years) starting in '14. (Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images)

By Zac Ellis

The SEC unveiled partnerships with nine bowl games beginning in 2014, the same year that the new College Football Playoff goes into effect, the conference announced on Monday. The SEC will participate in the Sugar Bowl and the Orange Bowl (in selected years) in addition to the playoff. Under the new agreements, the Capital One Bowl will have the first pick of SEC teams not participating in the playoff, Sugar Bowl or Orange Bowl.

Following the Capital One Bowl, eligible SEC teams will enter be a pool of six bowls, comprised of the Outback, Music City, Gator, Liberty, Texas and Belk bowls. Per the release, the SEC also renewed partnerships with the Birmingham Bowl (vs. TBA) and Advocare V100 Bowl in Shreveport (vs. ACC), with the Birmingham Bowl receiving first the selection of SEC teams following the pool of six.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.