By Zac Ellis
October 09, 2013

Condoleezza Rice's place on the College Football Playoff selection committee has sparked the most controversy. Condoleezza Rice's place on the selection committee has sparked the most controversy. (Ezra Shaw/Getty Images)

The College Football Playoff will announce its 13-member selection committee next Wednesday, Oct. 16, Brett McMurphy of ESPN reports.

The committee will be tasked with selecting the four teams to participate in the upcoming College Football Playoff, which will kick off after the 2014 season.

The report listed the 13 names expected to be included on the committee, many of which were leaked over the past two weeks.

ESPN and The Associated Press last week identified the 13 members as Barry Alvarez, Mike Gould, Pat Haden, Tom Jernstedt, Jeff Long, Oliver Luck, Archie Manning, Tom Osborne, Dan Radakovich, Condoleezza Rice, Mike Tranghese, Steve Wieberg and Tyrone Willingham.

College Football Playoff executive director Bill Hancock had previously said the committee could be announced by the end of the current regular season.

ROSENBERG: Backlash against Rice appointment on football committee sexist, stupid

You May Like