Jameis Winston, Johnny Manziel among six finalists for Heisman Trophy

Monday December 9th, 2013

Despite a disappointing end to the season, Johnny Manziel will return to New York as a Heisman finalist. Despite a tough end to the regular season, Johnny Manziel will repeat as a Heisman finalist. (L.G. Patterson/AP)

On Monday ESPN announced the six Heisman Trophy finalists vying for college football's most prestigious award.

The 2013 Heisman Trophy finalists, in alphabetical order, are: Northern Illinois quarterback Jordan Lynch, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel, Auburn running back Tre Mason, Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron, Boston College running back Andre Williams and Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston.

According to Chris Huston of HeismanPundit.com, six finalists will make their way to New York for only the second time in Heisman history and the first time since 1994.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.