Jameis Winston, AJ McCarron headline winners at College Football Awards

Friday December 13th, 2013

AJ McCaron took the Maxwell Award on Thursday night. (Phelan M. Ebenhack/AP)AJ McCarron took the Maxwell Award on Thursday night. (Phelan M. Ebenhack/AP)

College football's version of the Academy Awards took place Thursday night with the College Football Awards in Orlando, Fla. Several of the country's top players took home honors for their on-field performances during the 2013 season, just days before the Heisman Trophy is awarded Saturday.

The complete list of this year's college football award winners:

Maxwell Award (top player in college football):

AJ McCarron, QB Alabama

207-of-306, 2,676 yards, 26 touchdowns, five interceptions

Maxwell finalists: Jameis Winston, (Florida State), Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M)

Davey O'Brien Award (quarterback):

Jameis Winston, QB Florida State

237-of-349 for 3,820 yards, 38 touchdowns and 10 interceptions

Davey O'Brien finalists: AJ McCarron (Alabama), Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M)

Doak Walker Award (running back):

Andre Williams, RB Boston College

329 rushes for 2,102 yards, 17 touchdowns

Doak Walker finalists: Ka'Deem Carey (Arizona), Bishop Sankey (Washington).

Biletnikoff Award (wide receiver):

Brandin Cooks, WR Oregon State

120 catches for 1,670 yards, 15 touchdowns

Biletnikoff finalists: Sammy Watkins (Clemson), Mike Evans (Texas A&M)

Jim Thorpe Award (defensive back):

Darqueze Dennard, CB Michigan State

59 tackles, four interceptions, 10 pass breakups, 2.5 tackles for loss

Jim Thorpe finalists: Lamarcus Joyner (Florida State), Justin Gilbert (Oklahoma State)

Outland Award (interior lineman):

Aaron Donald, DT Pittsburgh

54 tackles, 26.5 tackles for loss, 10 sacks

Outland finalists: OT Jake Matthews (Texas A&M), OG Cyril Richardson (Baylor)

Bednarick Award (top defensive player):

Aaron Donald, DT Pittsburgh

Bednarik finalists: LB C.J. Mosley (Alabama), LB Anthony Barr (UCLA)

Lou Groza Award (place-kicker):

Roberto Aguayo, PK Florida State

19-of-20 field goals (95 percent), 90-of-90 extra points

Lou Groza finalists: Anthony Fera (Texas), Marvin Kloss (USF)

Ray Guy Award (punter):

Tom Hornsey, P Memphis

62 punts for a 45.2 yard average

Ray Guy finalists: Drew Kaser (Texas A&M), Cody Webster (Purdue)

Home Depot Coach of the Year:

Gus Malzahn, Auburn

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.