Florida State QB Jameis Winston wins Heisman Trophy

Sunday December 15th, 2013

Florida State Seminoles QB Jameis Winston won the Heisman Trophy by a margin of over 1500 points. (Phil Sears/AP)Florida State Seminoles QB Jameis Winston won the Heisman Trophy by a margin of over 1500 points. (Phil Sears/AP)

Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston has won the 79th Heisman Trophy at the award's ceremony in New York on Saturday night.

Winston claimed 2,205 points -- 82 percent of points possible -- on ballots received, including 668 first-place votes. Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron finished second with 704 total points, with Northern Illinois quarterback Jordan Lynch coming in third with 558 total points.

Winston's 1,501 margin of victory ranks seventh all-time, while his 668 first-place votes mark the ninth largest haul in the history of the award. Of the 900 votes tabulated, Winston was left off of 115 ballots entirely.

Your 2013 Heisman Trophy results:

1. Jameis Winston, Florida State: 2,205 points

2. AJ McCarron, Alabama: 704

3. Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois: 558

4. Andre Williams, Boston College: 470

5. Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M: 421

6. Tre Mason, Auburn: 404

7. Bryce Petty, Baylor: 127

8. Derek Carr, Fresno State: 107

9. Braxton Miller, Ohio State: 91

10. Ka'Deem Carey, Arizona: 70

Winston, a redshirt freshman, is the headliner of an unbeaten Seminoles squad ranked No. 1 in the country and headed to face No. 2 Auburn in the BCS Championship Game. He is only the second freshman to win the award following Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel's Heisman victory in 2012.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.