Everything you wanted to know about 2019 SEC Media Days

Christopher Walsh

The summer's over.

That's the message every year when the Southeastern Conference hosts media days, maybe the biggest annual collection of sports journalists outside of the Super Bowl.

After a one year hiatus in favor of the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, this year's event is back in its usual digs, the the Hyatt Regency in Hoover, Ala. The spacious first floor features radio row, with broadcasts going out all over the nation, with the second floor earmarked for press conferences galore.

One thing that stands out about this year is it's a rare media day in which no coach will be making his first appearance. All 14 are back from last season including the dean of conference coaches, Nick Saban.

Here's a look the preliminary schedule, participants and everything else you need to know about 2019 SEC Media Days.

SEC Media Days schedule

All times CT


9:30 – 11:30 a.m.

• BRUNCH (Wyndsor I/Wyndsor II ‐ First Floor)

11:30 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.


• MISSOURI (Barry Odom, DeMarkus Acy, Kelly Bryant, Cale Garrett)

1:45 – 2:00 p.m. • Kevin Weiberg, College Football 150th Anniversary

2:30 p.m. – 6:30 p.m.

• FLORIDA (Dan Mullen, Feleipe Franks, Lamical Perine, Jabari Zuniga)

• LSU (Ed Orgeron, Joe Burrow, Lloyd Cushenberry, Grant Delpit,)


8 a.m. – 3 p.m.

• REGISTRATION (Ivory ‐ First Floor)

8:30 – 8:55 a.m.

• STEVE SHAW, SEC Coordinator of Football Officials

9 a.m. – 1 p.m.

• GEORGIA (Kirby Smart, Jake Fromm, J.R. Reed, Andrew Thomas)

• OLE MISS (Matt Luke, Matt Corral, Alex Givens, MoMo Sanogo)

12:30 – 12:45 p.m.

• Chris Turner, SEC Network

1:30 – 5:30 p.m.

• TEXAS A&M (Jimbo Fisher, Justin Madubuike, Braden Mann, Kellen Mond)

• TENNESSEE (Jeremy Pruitt, Daniel Bituli, Jarrett Guarantano, Darrell Taylor)

4:15 – 4:30 p.m.

• SEC Film Legends ‐ Archie Manning, Steve Spurrier, Herschel Walker

6:00 – 9:00 p.m.

• “Saturdays in the South” Preview (Lyric Theatre – Downtown)


8:30 – 8:55 a.m.

• STEVE SHAW, SEC Coordinator of Football Officials

9 a.m. – 1 p.m.

• ALABAMA (Nick Saban, Jerry Jeudy, Dylan Moses, Tua Tagovailoa)

• ARKANSAS (Chad Morris, McTelvin Agim, De’Jon Harris, Devwah Whaley)

12:30 – 12:45 p.m.

• Bill Hancock, College Football Playoff

12:45 – 12:55 p.m.

• Mike Nealy, Football Bowl Association

1:30 – 5:30 p.m.

• MISSISSIPPI STATE (Joe Moorhead, Farrod Green, Erroll Thompson, Darryl Williams)

• SOUTH CAROLINA (Will Muschamp, Jake Bentley, T.J. Brunson, Bryan Edwards)


8:30 – 8:40 a.m.

• Matthew Sign, National Football Foundation

8:45 – 8:55 a.m.

• Mike Griffith, Football Writers Association of America

9 a.m. – 2 p.m.

• VANDERBILT (Derek Mason, Kalija Lipscomb, Jared Pinkney, Ke’Shawn Vaughn)

• KENTUCKY (Mark Stoops, Lynn Bowden Jr., Kash Daniel, Logan Stenberg)

• AUBURN (Gus Malzahn, Derrick Brown, Marlon Davidson, Prince Tega Wanogho)

Media Days voting

Every year media participants select a preseason all-conference team and projected order of finish, while it usually gets the conference champion wrong.

Projected Champion Eventual

Year Projected champion How fared Eventual champion

1992 Florida Lost in SEC Championship Game Alabama

1993 Alabama Lost in SEC Championship Game Florida

1994 Florida Won SEC Championship Game

1995 Florida Won SEC Championship Game

1996 Tennessee 2nd in East Florida

1997 Florida T2nd in East Tennessee

1998 Florida 2nd in East Tennessee

1999 Tennessee 2nd in East Alabama

2000 Alabama T5th in West Florida

2001 Florida 2nd in East LSU

2002 Tennessee 3rd in East Georgia

2003 Auburn 3rd in West LSU

2004 Georgia 2nd in East Auburn

2005 Tennessee 5th in East Georgia

2006 Auburn T2nd in West Florida

2007 LSU Won SEC Championship Game

2008 Florida Won SEC Championship Game

2009 Florida Lost in SEC Championship Game Alabama

2010 Alabama 4th in West Auburn

2011 Alabama 2nd in West LSU

2012 LSU T2nd in West Alabama

2013 Alabama T1st in West Auburn

2014 Alabama Won SEC Championship Game

2015 Auburn 7th in West Alabama

2016 Alabama Won SEC Championship Game

2017 Alabama T1st in West Georgia

2018 Alabama Won SEC Championship Game

SEC Media Days history

[All sites in Birmingham area from 1985-2017]

1985 - Holiday Inn Medical Center

1986 - 1987: Birmingham Hilton

1988 - 1991: Wynfrey Hotel

1992 - 2000: Medical Forum / Birmingham Sheraton Hotel

2001 - 2017: Hyatt Regency Birmingham - Wynfrey Hotel

2018: College Football Hall of Fame/Omni Hotel; Atlanta, Ga.