Jerry Jeudy, DeVonta Smith Both Named Biletnikoff Award Semifinalists

Christopher Walsh

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. – Alabama wide receivers Jerry Jeudy and DeVonta Smith were selected as semifinalists for the Biletnikoff Award on Monday morning. 

Overall, there were 12 semifinalists named by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation.

Jeudy, leads all Crimson Tide receivers with 64 catches for 867 yards and nine touchdowns. 

The junior wideout leads UA with 44 catches that have gone for a first down or touchdown this season while he is tied for the team lead in explosive plays of 16-plus yards with 23 in 10 games. 

The Deerfield Beach, Fla., native ranks fifth on the Alabama career receiving yards list with 2,446 and has totaled nine games of 100-plus yards receiving, including four of 10 matchups in 2019.

While Juedy has the most catches, Smith tops the Crimson Tide in receiving yards. He has 56 catches for a 1,026 yards, which ranks second in the SEC and sixth nationally. 

His 11 receiving touchdowns ranks second in the league while tying for sixth nationally. 

Smith has notched two 200-plus yard receiving games, making him the first Crimson Tide wideout to do so since Amari Cooper in 2014.

Alabama has had two winners in program history, including Jeudy, who is the reigning Biletnikoff winner from 2018, and Cooper in 2014. 

Meanwhile, Alabama didn't have a tight end named a semifinalist for the Mackey Award for best tight end. 

Alabama players named semifinalists

Thorpe Award (best defensive back): Xavier McKinney named semifinalist.

Maxwell Award (most outstanding player): Jerry Jeudy and Tua Tagovailoa.

Bednarik Award (best defensive player): Xavier McKinney.

Butkus Award (outstanding linebacker): Anfernee Jennings.

Davey O'Brien Award (top quarterback): Tua Tagovailoa.

Biletnikoff Award (best receiver): Jerry Jeudy and DeVonta Smith.

Alabama awards/watch lists rundown

Doak Walker Award (premier running back): Najee Harris named to watch list. Semifinalists named Nov. 20.

Bronko Nagurski Trophy (best defensive player): Raekwon Davis, Trevon Diggs, Anfernee Jennings and Dylan Moses named to watch list. Semifinalists TBA.

Outland Trophy (top interior lineman): Alex Leatherwood and Jedrick Wills Jr. named to watch list.

Walter Camp Award (player of the year): Tua Tagovailoa, Jerry Jeudy, Najee Harris and Dylan Moses named to watch list.

Ted Hendricks Award (best defensive end): Raekwon Davis named to watch list. Semifinalists named in late November.

Manning Award (best quarterback, includes postseason): Tua Tagovailoa named to watch list. Finalists will be named Nov. 28.

Lott Impact Player (defensive impact player of the year): Dylan Moses on watch list. Semifinalists named in late November.

Polynesian College Player of the Year: Tua Tagovailoa on watch list. Finalists named Dec. 5.

Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year: Nick Saban named to the midseason watch list.

FWAA All-Freshman Team: Christian Harris, Shane Lee and Evan Neal named to midseason watch list.

Paul "Bear" Bryant Coach of the Year: Nick Saban named to the watch list.

Awards no one on Crimson Tide is up for

Riminigton Award (best center)

Lou Groza Award (top kicker)

Ray Guy Award (best punter)

Paul Hornung Award (most versatile player)

Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award (best senior quarterback)

Wuerffel Trophy (community service)

Mackey Award (tight end)