Numerous Crimson Tide players named to Maxwell, Bednarik watch lists

T.G. Paschal/BamaCentral

Christopher Walsh

The first major awards watch lists were released Monday morning, with numerous Alabama players in the early running for the Maxwell Award for most outstanding player and the Bednarik Award for best defensive player.

The reigning 2018 Maxwell Award winner Tua Tagovailoa heads the 2019 list, and was joined by two teammates, running back Najee Harris and wide receiver Jerry Jeudy.

Meanwhile, the Bednarik list includes defensive lineman Raekown Davis and linebacker Dylan Moses.

The semifinalists will be announced Oct. 29.

Both awards are presented by the Maxwell Football Club.

The National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) will unveil its preseason watch lists over a 12-day period in conjunction with media days.

July 15: Bednarik Award / Maxwell Award

July 16: Davey O'Brien Award

July 17: Doak Walker Award

July 18: Biletnikoff Award

July 19: Mackey Award & Rimington Award

July 22: Thorpe Award & Butkus Award

July 23: Outland Trophy & Nagurski Award

July 24: Groza Award & Ray Guy Award

July 25: Hornung Award & Wuerffel Trophy

July 26: Walter Camp Award