SEC announces bowl agreements through 2025 season

Christopher Walsh

The Southeastern Conference has tweaked its postseason lineup, adding the Las Vegas Bowl and the Gasparilla Bowl in Tampa, beginning in 2020

The league announced six-year agreements with 10 bowls on Tuesday.

That's in addition to bowl games in the College Football Playoff.

The SEC participates in the Sugar Bowl when it doesn't have a playoff team, and the Orange Bowl during selected years.

The SEC has extended its current agreements through 2025 with the Citrus Bowl in Orlando, the Outback Bowl in Tampa, the Gator Bowl in Jacksonville, the Music City Bowl in Nashville, the Texas Bowl in Houston, the Liberty Bowl in Memphis and the Birmingham Bowl.

In addition, the SEC will continue its relationship with the Belk Bowl in Charlotte, participating in that bowl game in 2021, 2023 and 2025. For the remaining three years of the six-year cycle, SEC teams will participate in the Las Vegas Bowl against a Pac-12 opponent in 2020, 2022 and 2024.

The SEC has also added a new bowl partnership with the Gasparilla Bowl in Tampa through 2025.

The SEC will maintain its current bowl selection process in which the Citrus Bowl has the first pick of available teams after the four playoff teams are chosen, the Sugar Bowl or the Orange Bowl.

Teams for the pool of six bowls are subsequently selected, for the Outback Bowl, Gator Bowl, Music City Bowl, Texas Bowl and Liberty Bowl, as well as the Las Vegas Bowl in 2020, 2022 and 2024, and the Belk Bowl in 2021, 2023 and 2025.

In consultation with SEC member institutions, as well as these six bowls, the conference will make assignments for the bowl games in the pool system.

The Birmingham Bowl and Gasparilla Bowl will collaborate on the selection of remaining eligible teams each year.


Citrus Bowl (Orlando, FL) - first selection after CFP selection process


After the Citrus Bowl selects a team, the Conference, in consultation with the institutions and the bowls, will make assignments for bowl games in the SEC Pool of Six from all eligible SEC teams.

Academy Sports + Outdoors Texas Bowl (Houston, TX)

AutoZone Liberty Bowl (Memphis, TN)

Belk Bowl (Charlotte, NC) (2021, 2023, 2025)

Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl (Nashville, TN)

Las Vegas (Las Vegas, NV) vs. Pac-12 (2020, 2022, 2024)

TaxSlayer Gator Bowl (Jacksonville, FL)

Outback Bowl (Tampa, FL)


The Birmingham Bowl and Gasparilla Bowl will collaborate on the selection of teams for these games.

Birmingham Bowl (Birmingham, AL)

Bad Boy Mowers Gasparilla Bowl (Tampa, FL)