This wasn't the first time the Heisman winner wasn't a consensus All-American

T.G. Paschal/BamaCentral

Christopher Walsh

When Alabama sophomore quarterback Tua Tagovailoa was named a consensus All-American on Wednesday, he entered some elite company in more ways that one.

BamaCentral readers subsequently wondered if Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray was the first winner of the Heisman Trophy not be be the consensus All-American at his respective position.

The answer is no. He's the third.

The first was in 1956 with Notre Dame quarterback Paul Hornung, dubbed, "The Golden Boy."

His legendary status began to take shape the year before, with his 57-yard touchdown run against Southern Methodist. Down 14-7 in the fourth quarter to Iowa, Hornung made a 23-yard run, followed by a 40-yard touchdown pass to Jim Morse and then kicked the extra point to tie the game. He topped it off with 26-yard field goal for the victory.

Hornung went on to be be named the consensus All-American in 1955, but during his final season when he won the Heisman the Fighting Irish was awful, finishing 2-8. He also won despite having more than four times as many interceptions (13) as touchdowns (three).

However, Hornung was second in the nation in total offense, second in kickoff returns, 15th in passing, and 16th in scoring. He became the only player on a losing team to ever win the Heisman Trophy, beating some outstanding players including Tommy McDonald and Jerry Tubbs, Oklahoma; Johnny Majors, Tennessee; Jim Brown, Syracuse; John Brodie, Stanford; Jim Parker, Ohio State; and Joe Walton, Pittsburgh.

Hornung went on to be the first-overall NFL draft pick in 1957, and have a Hall-of-Fame career with the Green Bay Packers.

1956 Heisman Trophy voting

1] Paul Hornung, Notre Dame, QB 1066

2 Johnny Majors, Tennessee, HB 994

3] Tommy McDonald, Oklahoma, HB 973

4] Jerry Tubbs, Oklahoma, C 724

The second time was in 2001, when Nebraska quarterback Eric Crouch narrowly won the Heisman Trophy, in part because voters weren't ready to give the award to a sophomore.

Crouch was one of three quarterbacks in Division 1 history to rush for 3,000 and pass for 4,000 yards over his career, but his final season had had seven touchdown passes compared to 10 interceptions. The arguments over the final BCS rankings were highly contentious since Nebraska was given the chance to play in the Rose Bowl for the national championship despite not winning a conference or division championship. The Cornhuskers lost to Miami , 37-14.

Florida's Rex Grossman had 3,896 passing yards and 34 touchdown passes en route to being the consensus All-American.

2001 Heisman Trophy voting

1] Eric Crouch, Nebraska, QB 770

2] Rex Grossman, Florida, QB 708

3] Ken Dorsey, Miami (FL), QB 638

4] Joey Harrington, Oregon, QB 364

Regardless, they're considered two of the most controversial Heisman trophy winners in history. Murray will likely join their ranks, especially if he's outperformed and/or Alabama defeats Oklahoma in the College Football Playoff semifinal Orange Bowl on Dec. 29 (7 p.m. CT, ESPN).

BamaCentral readers also wondered if something similar had ever occurred with Crimson Tide junior wide receiver Jerry Judy getting snubbed for the Football Writers Association of America's All-American teams after winning Fred Biletnikoff Award as the best receiver in college football.

That's happened much more often, most recently in 2013 with Oregon State Brandin Cooks also not a unanimous selection. But only twice has the Biletnikoff winner not been a consensus All-American selection, the first winner Bobby Engram of Penn State in 1994, and Oregon State's Mike Hass in 2005.

Consensus All-Americans

Position, Player, School, Year

QB Tua Tagovailoa Alabama So.

RB Darrell Henderson Memphis Jr.

RB Jonathan Taylor* Wisconsin So.

WR Andy Isabella Massachusetts Sr.

WR Jerry Jeudy Alabama So.

TE Jace Sternberger Texas A&M Jr.

OL Jonah Williams* Alabama Jr.

OL Ben Powers Oklahoma Sr.

OL Mitch Hyatt Clemson Sr.

OL Beau Benzschawel Wisconsin Sr.

C Garrett Bradbury N.C. State Sr.

AP Rondale Moore Purdue Fr.

AP Savon Scarver Utah State So.

PK Andre Szmyt* Syracuse Fr.


DL Christian Wilkins* Clemson Sr.

DL Quinnen Williams* Alabama So.

DL Clelin Ferrell Clemson Sr.

DL Ed Oliver Houston Jr.

LB Josh Allen* Kentucky Sr.

LB Devin Bush Michigan Jr.

LB Devin White LSU Jr.

DB Grant Delpit* LSU So.

DB Julian Love Notre Dame Jr.

DB Deandre Baker Georgia Sr.

DB Greedy Williams LSU So.

DB Deionte Thompson Alabama Jr.

P Braden Mann* Texas A&M Jr.

*Unanimous selection