Tua Tagovailoa named to Davey O'Brien Award watch list

T.G. Paschal/BamaCentral

Christopher Walsh

Alabama Tua Tagovailoa was named to the watch list for the 2019 Davey O’Brien Award on Tuesday.

The junior is one of 30 candidates after being a semifinalist for the nation's top quarterback honor last season. However, he did win the Walter Camp Player of the Year and Maxwell Award, and was the consensus All-American selection at the position.

A Crimson Tide player has never won the Davey O'Brien.

Tagovailoa passed for an Alabama single-season record 43 touchdowns and 3,966 yards while recording 4,156 yards of total offense as sophomore.

The semifinalists will be announced Nov. 13.

Alabama awards list

Maxwell Award (most outstanding player): Najee Harris, Jerry Jeudy and Tua Tagovailoa named to watch list. Semifinalists named Oct. 29.

Bednarik Award (best defensive player): Raekown Davis, Dylan Moses named to watch list. Semifinalists named Oct. 29.