Publish date:

FSU Defender Makes Wuerffel Trophy Watch List

A Seminole leader is recognized for his role.

The parade of college football award watch lists continued its march through July today, as the Paul Hornung Award and Wuerffel Trophy Watch Lists were released. Florida State didn't have any players nominated for the former, which is presented to the nation's most versatile player, but defender Jaiden Lars-Woodbey is on the latter. 

It's actually a little surprising that Lars-Woodbey didn't make both, since he's listed as a defensive back but can check into the box to play more of a hybrid stud position as well. That said, being up for the Wuerffel Trophy is no small honor, as it's bestowed upon "college football’s most impactful leaders in community service, The Wuerffel Trophy is presented to the FBS player who best combines exemplary community service with leadership achievement on and off the field." 

Nominations are made by the respective universities' Sports Information Departments. The award, which has been around since 2005, has never been won by a 'Nole. 


No image description

Miller Forristall, Alabama, senior, tight end
Noah Hannon, App State, senior, offensive line
Colin Schooler, Arizona, senior, linebacker
Ethan Long, Arizona State, sophomore, tight end
Andre Harris, Jr., Arkansas State, junior, offensive line
Joe Stephenson, Army, senior, linebacker
Chandler Wooten, Auburn, senior, linebacker
Brandon Martin, Ball State, senior, linebacker
Terrel Bernard, Baylor, junior, linebacker
Donte Harrington, Boise State, senior, offensive line
Max Michel, Buffalo, sophomore, defensive line
Bracken El-Bakri, BYU, senior, defensive line
Michael Saffell, California, senior, offensive line
Tyriq Harris, Charlotte, senior, defensive line
Blake Bacevich, Cincinnati, sophomore, defensive line
Darien Rencher, Clemson, senior, running back
C.J. Brewer, Coastal Carolina, senior, defensive line
Colby Pursell, Colorado, junior, offensive line
Barry Wesley, Colorado State, junior, offensive line
Rakavius Chambers, Duke, senior, offensive line
Holton Ahlers, East Carolina, junior, quarterback
Thomas Odukoya, Eastern Michigan, senior, tight end
Dante Lang, Florida, sophomore, tight end
Jaiden Lars-Woodbey, Florida State, sophomore, defensive back
Eric Stokes, Georgia, junior, defensive back
Shai Werts, Georgia Southern, senior, quarterback
Jack DeFoor, Georgia Tech, senior, offensive line
Hekili Keliiliki, Hawai’i, junior, running back
Payton Turner, Houston, senior, defensive line
Doug Kramer, Illinois, senior, offensive line
Harry Crider, Indiana, senior, offensive line
Brock Purdy, Iowa State, junior, quarterback
Api Mane, Kansas, senior, offensive line
Chris Hughes, Kansas, senior, offensive line
Skylar Thompson, Kansas State, senior, quarterback
Dustin Crum, Kent State, senior, quarterback
Landon Young, Kentucky, senior, offensive line
Luke Fortner, Kentucky, senior, offensive line
Jalen Williams, Louisiana, senior, wide receiver
Joshua Mote, Louisiana Tech, junior, offensive line
Reeves Blankenship, Louisiana Tech, junior, long snapper
JaCoby Stevens, LSU, senior, defensive back
Brenden Knox, Marshall University, junior, running back
Jake Funk, Maryland, senior, running back
Brady White, Memphis, senior, quarterback
Zach McCloud, Miami, senior, linebacker
Jack Sorenson, Miami (Ohio), senior, wide receiver
Adam Shibley, Michigan, senior, linebacker
Asher O’Hara, Middle Tennessee State, junior, quarterback
Tanner Morgan, Minnesota, junior, quarterback
Kobe Jones, Mississippi State, senior, defensive line
Kobie Whiteside, Missouri, senior, defensive line
Cameron Kinley, Navy, senior, defensive back
Ben Stille, Nebraska, senior, defensive line
Lawson Hall, Nevada, senior, linebacker
Teton Saltes, New Mexico, senior, offensive line
Sage Doxtater, New Mexico State, senior, offensive line
Trenton Gill, North Carolina State, junior, punter
Deion Hair-Griffin, North Texas, senior, wide receiver/special teams
Daelin Hayes, Notre Dame, junior, defensive line
Master Teague III, Ohio State, sophomore, running back
Caleb Kelly, Oklahoma, senior, linebacker
Chuba Hubbard, Oklahoma State, junior, running back
Isaac Weaver, Old Dominion, senior, offensive line
Mac Brown, Ole Miss, senior, punter
Brady Breeze, Oregon, senior, defensive back
Isaac Hodgins, Oregon State, junior, defensive line
Jaydon Grant, Oregon State, junior, defensive back
Sean Clifford, Penn State, junior, quarterback
Patrick Jones II, Pitt, senior, defensive line
Grant Hermanns, Purdue, senior, offensive line
Christian Webb, San José State, senior, linebacker
Shane Buechele, SMU, senior, quarterback
Brian Ankerson, South Alabama, junior, offensive line
Dylan Wonnum, South Carolina, junior, offensive line
Swayze Bozeman, Southern Miss, senior, linebacker
Connor Wedington, Stanford, senior, wide receiver
Isaiah Sanders, Stanford, senior, quarterback
Treyjohn Butler, Stanford, senior, defensive back
Kingsley Jonathan, Syracuse, senior, defensive line
Garret Wallow, TCU, senior, linebacker
Kellton Hollins, TCU, senior, offensive line
Isaiah Graham-Mobley, Temple, senior, linebacker
Trey Smith, Tennessee, senior, offensive line
Sam Ehlinger, Texas, senior, quarterback
Kellen Mond, Texas A&M University, senior, quarterback
Zech McPhearson, Texas Tech, senior, defensive back
Bailey Flint, Toledo, senior, punter
Luke Whittemore, Troy, junior, wide receiver
Sorrell Brown, Tulane, sophomore, wide receiver
Akayleb Evans, Tulsa, junior, defensive back
Chris Paul, Tulsa, junior, offensive line
Wilson Beaverstock, UAB, sophomore, kicker
Samuel Jackson, UCF, junior, offensive line
Brian Keating, UConn, senior, long snapper
Cole McCubrey, UMass, senior, linebacker
Solomon Siskind, UMass, junior, tight end
Daniel Imatorbhebhe, USC, senior, tight end
KJ Sails, USF, senior, defensive back
Devin Lloyd, Utah, junior, linebacker
Justus Te’i, Utah State, senior, defensive line
Solomon Wise, UTSA, senior, linebacker
Andre Mintze, Vanderbilt, senior, linebacker
Dillon Reinkensmeyer, Virginia, senior, offensive line
Terrell Jana, Virginia, senior, wide receiver
Sage Surratt, Wake Forest, junior, wide receiver
Race Porter, Washington, senior, punter
Jarret Doege, West Virginia, junior, quarterback
Sam James, West Virginia, junior, wide receiver
Sean Mahone, West Virginia, senior, defensive back
Devon Key, Western Kentucky, senior, defensive back
Juwuan Jones, Western Kentucky, junior, defensive line
Mike Caliendo, Western Michigan, senior, offensive line
Madison Cone, Wisconsin, senior, defensive back