Skip to main content

Lykendra Johnson, Porsche Poole Share MVP Award at Women’s Basketball Banquet

Spartans held its annual banquet at the Breslin Center on Wednesday night.

EAST LANSING, Mich. - The Michigan State women's basketball program held its annual postseason awards banquet at the Breslin Center on Wednesday night. Seniors Lykendra Johnson and Porsche Poole shared the team’s Player of the Year award in a vote by their teammates.

Poole, who was named to the All-Big Ten Second Team by the conference’s coaches, leads the Spartans in scoring this season, averaging a career-best 13.5 points, which is 16th in the Big Ten. Her scoring increase from last season (+7.4 points) is currently the fourth best in the Big Ten and tied for the fourth largest in Spartan history. Poole is also second on the team in assists (3.5) and field goal percentage (45.9%), which are both 12th in the Big Ten. In all, Poole is averaging career highs in points, rebounds, assists, steals and field goal percentage.

Johnson became the second Spartan and 13th Big Ten player to record 1,000 points and 1,000 rebounds in her career, earlier this season. She is second in the Big Ten with 8.7 rebounds, while ranking second on the team and top-25 in the conference with 11.0 points. Johnson also leads the team with 10 double-doubles, second in the league, 1.3 blocks, good for sixth in the Big Ten, and 1.8 steals, ranking 11th in the conference. A Second-Team All-Big Ten choice, she became just the sixth Spartan to earn all-conference honors in four-straight seasons.

Sophomore Klarissa Bell earned the Most Improved Award for her increased production this season for the Spartans. Since joining the starting lineup for the last 10 games, she has increased her production to 7.8 points and 3.9 rebounds in 30.0 minutes, while shooting 50.0% from the field. Bell began the year averaging 1.8 points and 1.4 rebounds in 7.1 minutes in her first 20 games, after posting 2.5 points and 2.1 rebounds in 12.4 minutes last season.

Freshman Becca Mills was the Sixth Player Award winner. Mills is fourth on the team in scoring (7.2 points) and second in rebounds (4.4), despite starting only nine games and playing just 17.0 minutes per game. She is also fourth on the team in field goal percentage (45.2%), and second in free throw percentage (76.1%) and 3-point field goal percentage (36.8%).

Junior Jasmine Thomas was named the team’s Defensive Player of the Year. Thomas is third on the team with 1.5 steals per game.

Rounding out the team awards, junior Courtney Schiffauer received the Hustle Award, freshman Madison Williams was the recipient of the Pat Canning Coaches Award, and junior Tracy Nogle was earned both the Spartan Character and Spartan Scholar-Athlete Awards.

Additionally, Ron and Jo Smith received the MVP Supporter Award and Karoline Rothwell was named the MVP Most Spectacular Fan.

Scroll to Continue

Read More

Player of the Year: Lykendra Johnson, Porsche Poole

Most Improved Award: Klarissa Bell

Defensive Player of the Year: Jasmine Thomas

Sixth Player Award: Becca Mills

Hustle Award: Courtney Schiffauer

Spartan Character Award: Tracy Nogle

Spartan Scholar-Athlete Award: Tracy Nogle

Pat Canning Coaches Award: Madison Williams

MVP Supporter Award: Ron and Jo Smith

MVP Most Spectacular Fan: Karoline Rothwell