Michigan State Athletic Director Mark Hollis Announces 2016 Hall of Fame Class Headlined by Mike Sadler

Matt Larson

Mike Sadler
Mike Sadler

MSU will induct eight Spartans into its Hall of Fame in September.

EAST LANSING – Michigan State will induct eight former student-athletes into its Athletics Hall of Fame on Thursday, Sept. 22 as part of its annual “Celebrate” weekend, it was announced on Aug. 2. The 2016 Hall of Fame class includes: Eric Allen (football/track & field), Don Behm (wrestling), Trevor Harris (soccer), Steve Juday (football/baseball), Anne Pewe Khademian (cross country/track & field), Ken Popejoy (cross country/track & field), Patti Raduenz (softball) and Mike Sadler (football).

The "Celebrate 2016" weekend includes the seventh-annual Varsity Letter Jacket Presentation and Hall of Fame induction ceremony on Thursday, Sept. 22 and then a special recognition of the Hall of Famers during the Michigan State-Wisconsin football game at Spartan Stadium on Saturday, Sept. 24.

The MSU Athletics Hall of Fame, located in the Clara Bell Smith Student-Athlete Academic Center, opened on Oct. 1, 1999, and displays key moments in Spartan Athletics history as well as plaques of the 131 previous inductees. The charter class of 30 former Spartan student-athletes, coaches and administrators was inducted in 1992.

“We are excited to announce another outstanding Hall of Fame class,” Michigan State Athletics Director Mark Hollis said. “It’s a larger class with eight inductees, and eight unique stories. And yet they all share a love for MSU and a desire to be great that creates a lasting bond. Hall of Fame Weekend is one of my favorite events as Athletics Director. Not only do we celebrate the greatness of past Spartans, we do so in conjunction with the varsity letter jacket presentation as first time letterwinners celebrate the start of their journey towards equally lofty goals.

“Eric Allen is among the most electrifying athletes to ever play football at Michigan State. Despite his small stature, he compiled an impressive list of accomplishments, shattering MSU, Big Ten and NCAA record books in the process.

“Don Behm was a two-time All-American, a two-time Big Ten Champion and an Olympic Silver Medalist as an individual. Focusing on things larger than himself, he helped the Spartans to the team title at the 1967 NCAA Championships, just three seasons after finishing last at the Big Ten Championships.

“Trevor Harris is the first member of the Spartan soccer program to enter the Hall of Fame. One of the leading scorers in school history, the two-time All-American led the Spartans to a pair of NCAA co-Championships.

“Steve Juday was an All-American quarterback and co-captain for MSU’s 1965 NCAA Championship team. He was equally impressive in the classroom, earning Academic All-Big Ten and Big Ten Medal of Honor accolades.

“Anne Pewe Khademian was one of the pioneers in what has become a powerhouse Spartan cross country program, culminating with an NCAA Cross Country Championship in 2014. She helped the Spartans capture the first-ever Big Ten Cross Country Championship in 1981 and earned All-America honors in both cross country and track, setting the table for elite success decades later.

“Ken Popejoy is a four-time All-American with a national championship in the mile and multiple individual Big Ten titles. But with great humility, he considers his career highlight being a part of the 1971-72 Triple Crown team at MSU that captured the cross country, indoor track and outdoor track Big Ten Championships.

“Patti Raduenz was an All-American on the softball field and in the classroom, while capturing the Big Ten Medal of Honor. MSU’s career batting leader, her name is found throughout the program’s record books.

“Mike Sadler embodied everything great about being a Spartan. His excellence on the football field and in the classroom was surpassed only by the first-class manor in which he represented not only Spartan football, but Michigan State University. After careful consideration and a thorough examination of his credentials, we decided to waive the waiting period and induct him immediately.”