Skip to main content

COLLEGE STATION - Despite the season just beginning its second half, awards are flying around the conversation in the College Football world. One award that could go to multiple finalists would be the Chuck Bednarik Award, granted to the top defensive player each season. 

Although Texas A&M is known for its team style of playing, one Aggie made the cut for the group of semifinalists. From here on out, their performance could have them moving to the final round come early December.

Texas A&M’s Justin Madubuike has been named a semifinalist for the 2019 Bednarik Award. The news was announced Tuesday by the Maxwell Football Club.

The junior defensive lineman from McKinney, Texas, is one of two representatives from Texas and among six student-athletes from the Southeastern Conference named as a semifinalist. This season, Madubuike has accounted for 7.5 tackles for loss to go along with 28 tackles, 2.5 sacks, a forced fumble, an interception and a blocked kick.

Here is the list of the semifinalist heading into the final month of action:

Xavier McKinney, S, Alabama

Derrick Brown, DT, Auburn

Curtis Weaver, DE, Boise State

Evan Weaver, LB, Cal

Isaiah Simmons, LB, Clemson

Marvin Wilson, NG, Florida

J.R. Reed, S, Georgia

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

Ethan Nation

Texas A&M Makes Top Group for Ga. DB Ethan Nation

Texas A&M Aggies Recruiting Tracker: Check back often as we keep you up-to-date on Texas A&M looking to improve on an already impressive class.


Former Texas A&M Star DeMarvin Leal Agrees To Rookie Deal With Steelers

Leal was an All-American for Texas A&M in 2021 after posting 8.5 sacks and 12.5 tackles for loss


Texas A&M's Rock Rips Rebels With Two Homers In Victory

Dylan Rock hit two home runs, including an insurance solo shot late in a 10-5 win over Ole Miss

Derek Stingley, CB, LSU

Jeffrey Okudah, CB, Ohio State

Chase Young, DE, Ohio State

Neville Gallimore, DT, Oklahoma

Kenneth Murray, LB, Oklahoma

Yetur Gross-Matos, DE, Penn State

Micah Parsons, LB, Penn State

Javon Kinlaw, DT, South Carolina

Justin Madubuike, DL, Texas A&M

Jordyn Brooks, LS, Texas Tech

Bradlee Anae, DE, Utah

David Woodward, LB, Utah State

Zack Baun, DE, Wisconsin