The Seattle Seahawks fell 26-17 to the Los Angeles Rams in Thursday night football.
And while it may be eventually lost in the footnotes of the game, former Texas Longhorns specialist and current Seattle punter Michael Dickson delivered a kick that needs to be remembered.
With Seattle trailing 16-7 and facing fourth-and-14, Dickson attempted to punt, but it was blocked by Jamir Jones. Dickson then scooped the loose ball one-handed and re-punted it 68 yards to the Rams’ 11.
While the announcers were confused at first, the it was a legal play.
From the NFL rule book: "A second kick from behind the line of scrimmage is legal provided the ball has not crossed the line."
Seahawks coach Pete Carrol was in awe.
“That was one of the great kicking plays in the history of the league," he said. "The scoop was ridiculous. ... That was a marvelous play we witnessed.''
In the Trenches: Longhorns Interior O-Line Spring Depth Chart Preview
Offensive line coach Kyle Flood has some decisions to make headed into 2022
Longhorns Recruiting Tracker: Texas to Visit Arch Manning this Week
Texas Longhorns Recruiting Tracker: Check back often as we keep you up-to-date on Longhorns news as Texas looks to improve on an already impressive class
Texas Women Face Biggest Big 12 Test vs. Iowa State
No. 15 Longhorns seek to end No. 7 Cyclones' undefeated run in Big 12 action when they head to Ames, Iowa, on Wednesday
Dickson was not the only former Longhorn who had a successful night. Seahawks safety Quandre Diggs (2011-14 at UT) intercepted Matthew Stafford in the end zone to start the second quarter.
Want the latest in breaking news and insider information on the Longhorns? Click Here
Want to join in on the discussion? Click here to become a member of the Longhorns Country message board community today!