Wisconsin Safety Eric Burrell Named to 2020 Jim Thorpe Award Watch List

Two Badgers make watch lists on Monday.

Wisconsin safety Eric Burrell claimed a preseason honor to start the week. The redshirt senior was named as one of 49 defensive backs to the Paycom Jim Thorpe Award watch list, the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame (OSHOF) and Jim Thorpe Association announced on Monday.

As noted on the award's website, the honor is given "to the nation's best defensive back in college football."

Last season, Burrell stepped up and started 13 of 14 games. The Maryland native finished tied for first on the team in interceptions with inside linebacker Jack Sanborn (three). He also recorded 55 tackles -- good for fifth on the team -- along with 3.5 tackles for loss, two sacks, two forced fumbles and six pass breakups.

He will be part of a deep Wisconsin safety group that includes Reggie Pearson, Scott Nelson and Collin Wilder. All will be competing for reps in one of the strongest rooms on the team.

Earlier on Monday, inside linebacker Jack Sanborn was named to the Butkus Award collegiate watch list.

2020 Wisconsin Watch List Candidates

AllBadgers.com's 'Stellar, Standard and Subpar' Series

AllBadgers.com's 20 in '20 Series: