2019 Wyoming-Colorado State Border War Moved to Friday, Nov. 22, for National TV

Tracy Ringolsby

The 111th Border War will receive national attention in November.

The Cowboys will host Colorado State in a game that has been moved to Friday, Nov. 22, to accomodate ESPN2, which will televise the game. The Cowboys season-opening game against Missouiri at War Memorial Stadium will also be televsied nationally, CBS Sports Newwork scheduling a 5:30 p.m., kickoff.

The Cowboys will be featured on six nationally-televised games during the 2019 college football season, according to the Mountain West Conference, which announced it's national television package on Thursday.

In addition to the Missouri and CSU games, the Cowboys will appeared on the ESPN Network. In addition to the Missouri game, ESPN Networks will air the UNLV at Wyoming game Sept. 28, Wyoming at Boise State game Nov. 9, and Whyoming at Utah State on Nov. 16 at times to be determined. CBS Sports Network will televise the Cowboys at San Diego State on Oct. 12 with an 8:30 p.m., kickoff.

The Border War is the focal point of the football season for the two teams. The Bronze Boot was added as a trophy for the game in 1968, the Cowboys having won 27 of the 51 games since that addition, including each of the last three.

The ROTC detachments of the respective schools initiated the Bronze Boot, using a boot worn in the Vietnam War by Cpt. Dan J. Romero, an Adams State College graduate and Army ROTC instructor at CSU between 1967 and 1969.

Each year the day before the game, the game ball is carried in a running shuttle relay by the ROTC detachment of the visiting team along US 287 to the Colorado–Wyoming border, where the home team's ROTC detachment receives it and runs the game ball to the stadium hosting the game. The trophy is guarded by the ROTC unit of the past year's winning school during the game.

Missouri will be making its first-ever appearance in War Memorial Stadium. It is only the second time in history that an SEC team has played in Wyoming. The first SEC member school to play in Wyoming was in 2004 when Ole Miss faced the Cowboys. Wyoming won that game 37-32 over the Rebels.

The San Diego State game will be the first meeting between the two teams since 2016 when they faced off in two memorable matchups. The Cowboys defeated the Aztecs in the regular-season game by a score of 34-33 in Laramie. Two weeks later, the Aztecs returned to War Memorial Stadium for the 2016 Mountain West Championship Game, and in another thrilling game the Aztecs prevailed 27-24.

Additional telecasts by AT&T SportsNet, Stadium and Spectrum Sports (for select Hawai’i games) will be announced at later dates. At the time those televised games are announced it is anticipated that additional game times will also be released.

For those games designated as ESPN Network games that do not have specific game times assigned, the announcements of kick times and specific networks (e.g. ESPN, ESPN2, etc.) will generally be announced 12 days in advance of the gams.

Wyoming is coming off three consecutive bowl-eligible seasons, a bowl appearance in the 2016 San Diego County Credit Union Poinsettia Bowl and a victory in the 2017 Famous Idaho Potato Bowl.

The Cowboys return 13 starters and 45 lettermen for the 2019 season, including All-America candidates Logan Wilson, Casper Natrona alum, at linebacker and Cooper Rothe at place-kicker.