Contador, Froome, Nibali, Quintana enter Tirreno-Adriatico

MILAN (AP) Organizers for the upcoming Tirreno-Adriatico race have announced a star-studded field featuring Grand Tour winners Alberto Contador, Chris Froome, Vincenzo Nibali and Nairo Quintana.

It will be the first time that the four riders with 10 Grand Tour wins between them have competed together in a World Tour stage race.

The 50th edition of the race across central Italy runs March 11-17.

Contador is the defending Tirreno champion, Nibali won in 2012 and 2013, Froome was runner-up in 2012 and Quintana finished second last year.

The Tirreno starts with a team time trial, includes a serious mountain stage, and finishes with a 10-kilometer (6.2-mile) individual time trial.

Nibali, last year's Tour de France champion, races for Astana, which appears set to lose its license following a series of doping cases.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.