Publish date:

For the first time, the Celtics own Boston's longest title drought

Much has been made over the past few years about the Patriots owning Boston’s longest championship drought. Despite the presence of Bill Belichick, Tom Brady and others who were instrumental to the Pats’ three titles in the 2000s, they have held that dubious distinction since the Bruins’ Stanley Cup title in 2011.

But with the Patriots finally capturing that fourth Super Bowl Sunday night, it’s a little shocking to see who holds that mantle now. For the first time in their storied history, the 17-time World Champion Celtics own the longest title drought in Boston.

Monday's A.M. Hot Clicks: Scenes From Super Bowl XLIX

The Celtics haven’t won a championship since way back in 2008, which must make every other fan base in America feel oh so sorry for them.

The Patriots played their first game in September 1960, officially ushering the four-sport era to New England. The Celtics were reigning NBA champs at the time, having just won their first of eight straight with Red Auerbach coaching Bill Russell.

SI Recommends

It took until 41 years for the Patriots to win their first title, but the Red Sox had a longer drought until Manny, Papi and the rest of the "Idiots" broke their 86-year curse in 2004. Thereafter, the Bruins held the honor until ending a 29-year spell in 2011. That win put the onus back on the Patriots.

But Monday morning, after the end of the Pats' 10-year wait for another title, that onus shifts to the Celtics (six years and counting, barring a miracle run to end all miracle runs). 

The Celtics have more titles than any North American team besides the New York Yankees and Montreal Canadiens, but the Patriots, Red Sox and Bruins may be wondering what’s taking so long to win title No. 18.

Here are the city of Boston's championships, via a cool graphic from WCBV Boston: 

Post by WCVB Channel 5 Boston.