Tringale disqualified from PGA Championship

PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla. (AP) Cameron Tringale has been disqualified from last week's PGA Championship after telling the rules committee that he might have whiffed on a tap-in putt in the final round and thus signed for an incorrect score.

Tringale tied for 33rd at Valhalla Golf Club.

Tringale signed for a 4 on the par-3 11th hole. He says his putter swung over the ball prior to tapping in from 3 inches for a bogey. Tringale says he called the PGA of America because of the slightest doubt whether his swing over the ball should have counted as a stroke.

Even though the competition is over, Tringale was disqualified under Rule 34-1-iii.

Tringale forfeits the $53,000 in earnings. He also loses 37 FedEx Cup points, which could be more costly.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.