Triple Crown of Australian golf set for 3 consecutive weeks

SYDNEY (AP) The ''Triple Crown'' of Australia's major golf tournaments will begin with the Australian Masters from Nov. 19-22 at a yet-to-be- determined sandbelt course in Melbourne.

The PGA Tour of Australasia said Friday that the Australian Open, with American Jordan Spieth expected to return as defending champion, will follow at The Australian Golf Club in Sydney from Nov. 26-29.

The Australian PGA, sanctioned with the European PGA Tour for the first time, will be played at Royal Pines south of Brisbane from Dec. 3-6.

Australian Robert Allenby, in 2005, is the only golfer to have won all three Australian majors in the same year.

Adam Scott came close in 2013 but lost the Australian Open - the final tournament that year - by one stroke to Rory McIlroy.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.