Jutanugarn wins LPGA player of the year, Hull wins finale

NAPLES, Fla. (AP) Arya Jutanugarn is the LPGA's player of the year, and In Gee Chun is the tour's scoring champion.

Jutanugarn wrapped up her season by finishing tied for fourth Sunday at the CME Group Tour Championship, good enough to clinch the season-long Race to CME Globe points competition and $1 million bonus.

And Chun finished with three consecutive birdies to rally and grab the Vare Trophy, the season scoring crown that would have gone to Lydia Ko if Chun's 10-footer on the final hole would have missed.

Ko would have been player of the year with a win Sunday. But she finished eight shots back of Charley Hull, who shot a final-round 66 and finished at 19-under for her first LPGA victory.

Hull finished two shots ahead of So Yeon Ryu, that pivotal swing coming on the par-5 17th.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.