On the par-5 13th, Johnson's tee shot went dead right, hit the tee marker and then popped right in front of him. 

By Daniel Rapaport
April 12, 2019

Patrons attend the Masters to see the best players in the world at the height of their craft. 

This...this was not that. 

Zach Johnson, a two-time major winner who won the green jacket in 2007, just shanked a shot at the par-5 13th. I mean, really shanked it. It was so bad that it richocheted off the tee marker then popped in the air right in front of him. 

But here's the thing: it was a practice swing, so the shot doesn't count. Given Johnson's response—a quick "oh s---!" this did seem adccidental. He was able to re-tee the ball and then striped his tee shot—his actual tee shot—right down the center. 

He went on to birdie the hole, because of course he did. 

It's interesting to note that had he done this anywhere except for the tee shot, the shot would count. The rules stipulate that a player can re-tee the ball if they accidentally knock it off—probably so that if a player hits the ground, and the ground causes the ball to fall off the tee, there's no penalty—but there are no re-dos if it was anywhere but the teebox. 

You May Like

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN
Eagle (-2)
Birdie (-1)
Bogey (+1)
Double Bogey (+2)