Burke, Naegele, Housley and Lindsay awarded Lester Patrick Trophy

Publish date:

Minnesota Wild founding owner Bob Naegele, Jr., Anaheim Ducks executive vice-president and GM Brian Burke, 21-year NHL defenseman Phil Housley and Hockey Hall of Fame left wing Ted Lindsay have been named recipients of the 2008 Lester Patrick Trophy for outstanding service to hockey in the United States.

The recipients will be honored at the Lester Patrick Awards Luncheon in Minnesota on October 22.

The award honors the memory of Lester Patrick, who was involve din the game for more than 50 years as a player, coach and GM. He was also a pioneer in the development of the game.



Jack Eichel Rumor Mill Heating Up

Reports emerged earlier this month claiming teams were calling the Buffalo Sabres about several players, including captain Jack Eichel. There's since been growing media chatter regarding clubs with an interest in the 24-year-old center. Lyle Richardson has more.


Islanders on the Brink of Elimination After Massive Loss

There was no panic in the Tampa Bay Lightning — just another determined performance against the New York Islanders.


Stephen Johns on why he's Rollerblading Across America

This isn't a victory lap for someone who has finished the healing process. Johns is battling through his depression in real time and sharing his journey to help others facing the same demons.