ECHL will replace three relocated AHL teams in 2015-16

The fallout of the AHL relocation is now effecting the ECHL, as the minor pro league will be moving three teams to the East Coast next season to fill holes left by the AHL. Manchester, Norfolk, and Adirondack are expected to be named ECHL cities later today.
Publish date:
The Hockey News

The Hockey News

It may not be the same league, but a trio of cities that were announced to be losing their AHL teams in 2015-16 will see the clubs replaced with ECHL hockey.

Manchester, N.H., Norfolk, Va., and Adirondack, which plays out of Glens Falls, N.Y., will each be recipients of relocated ECHL franchises for next season, each of which will replace a relocated AHL team.

The Virginian Pilot’s Jim Hodges reported this morning that the ECHL’s Bakersfield Condors, which will be replaced with Edmonton’s AHL affiliate for the upcoming campaign, will be the team to move to Norfolk. Speculation is the Ontario Reign will move to Manchester and continue under the same Monarchs moniker that the AHL team uses.

It is not yet known which ECHL club will be moving to Adirondack. The Calgary Flames are moving their AHL team to Stockton next season, so the most sensible assumption is that the ECHL's Stockton Thunder will then move to Adirondack.

The announcement of three teams moving to the East Coast does, however, leave Worcester without a team. As part of the AHL's relocation, the Worcester Sharks are moving to San Jose. In addition, Oklahoma City, which is Edmonton’s current AHL affiliate, is not expected to retain a team.

The announcement of the relocating ECHL teams has yet to be made official, but it is expected to come on Friday afternoon. This also comes on the day that Las Vegas officially withdrew its team, the Wranglers, from the ECHL after suspending operations for the 2014-15 season.


20190927_VDOvsDRU_percee offensive Gaucher (VDO) et Nickl (DRU)

QMJHL Players Look Destined to Once Again Be Bubble Boys

The Quebec League postponed almost as many games as it played, then shut down a month early trying to play the conventional format and appears headed for bubble play again.


QMJHL Shuts Down, Canadian University Team Has 18 Cases

The prospects of the NHL being able to play anything resembling a normal season took another hit when the Quebec League decided to start its Christmas break 19 days early and the Mount Royal Cougars had 18 positive cases of COVID-19.

Rena Laverty/USA Hockey

Team USA's World Junior Camp is Set

The Americans are looking for revenge after falling early in last year's tournament. And they have the firepower to make it happen.