Former Canuck Linden, Gait twins inducted into B.C. Sports Hall of Fame

Publish date:
The Hockey News

The Hockey News

VANCOUVER - Former Vancouver Canuck captain Trevor Linden, Olympic snowboard champion Maelle Ricker and B.C. members of the 2010 Olympic gold medal hockey team were inducted into the B.C. Sports Hall of Fame Tuesday.

Also inducted in the athlete category were Gary and Paul Gait, the Victoria twins considered two of the best lacrosse players of their time, and Paralympic skier Lauren Woolstencroft.

Selected in the team category were Roberto Luongo, Scott Niedermayer, Duncan Keith, Brent Seabrook and Shea Weber, all members Canada's Olympic gold medal hockey team.

Linden, one of the most popular Canucks ever, recorded six 30-goal seasons and led Vancouver to Game 7 of the 1994 Stanley Cup final. After his retirement in 2008 he became the second Canuck to have his number retired by the team.

Ricker, who grew up in West Vancouver, won the gold medal in snowboard cross at the 2010 Winter Olympics. That same year she won the World Cup overall title. In 106 career starts she has 14 wins and 32 podium finishes.

Gary Gait is credited with helping to revolutionize modern lacrosse. He was named MVP of the National Lacrosse League a record six times and remains the NLL's all-time leader in goals and points.

Paul Gait won 12 twelve major championships during his career, led the NLL in goal scoring four times, and won the league's MVP award in 2002.

Woolstencroft won five gold medals at the 2010 Paralympics in Whistler. She became the first Winter Paralympian to win five gold at a single Games. She also represented Canada at the 2002 and 2006 Paralympics, winning another three gold medals, a silver and a bronze.

Inducted in the media category was Tom Larscheid who spent 33 years as the radio colour commentator on Canuck broadcasts. He also was radio colour commentator on B.C. Lions games from 1975 to 2000.

Mike Jones and Audrey Williams were inducted in the builder category.

Over the last 30 years, Jones' Burnaby Mountain Wrestling Club has produced 18 Olympians, 28 national championship teams, plus 13 world and Olympic medals.

Williams has spent 50 years as a figure skating official. She was appointed an international judge by the ISU in 1967, and worked at the 1994 Winter Games in Lillehammer, six world championships, and four world junior championships.

Receiving the W.A.C. Bennett Award was Marty Zlotnik who used his drive and organizational ability to shape B.C. sport by raising millions of dollars for provincial athletes.

Inducted in the pioneer category was the 1933 Chinese students soccer team.


Free agency

NHL Free Agency Frenzy 2021: Signing Tracker and Analysis

Follow along with all the big deals with live updates and instant analysis from The Hockey News' writing staff throughout the first day of the NHL's signing season.

Derek Ryan

Oilers Sign Derek Ryan to Two-Year Deal

Edmonton adds a little more depth at the center position with a deal that adds a face that's no stranger to the city.


Avalanche Acquire Goaltender Kuemper from Coyotes

The Colorado Avalanche have acquired goaltender Darcy Kuemper from the Arizona Coyotes in exchange for a first-round pick and forward Connor Timmins.