Senators lead all NHL teams with six players on ballot for 2008 all-star game

Publish date:

NEW YORK - The Ottawa Senators lead all teams with six players on the ballot for the 2008 NHL all-star game.

Ottawa forwards Dany Heatley, Jason Spezza and Daniel Alfredsson are joined by goaltender Ray Emery and defencemen Chris Phillips and Wade Redden. The Senators lead the NHL's overall standings.

The all-star game will be played Jan. 27 at Phillips Arena in Atlanta. The starting lineup for each conference is determined by the fans, with voting to begin Nov. 13.

For the second straight year, fan balloting will be entirely digital. Last year, an Internet campaign nearly saw Vancouver Canucks defenceman Rory Fitzpatrick voted a starter for the Western Conference as a write-in candidate.

The Canucks are one of several teams with five players on the ballot. The Calgary Flames also have five, one more than the Toronto Maple Leafs. The Montreal Canadiens have three players on the ballot while the Edmonton Oilers have two.

Each of the 30 NHL teams has at least two players on the ballot.


Mat Barzal

Fantasy Hockey Preview: New York Islanders

For the second straight season, the Islanders were on the cusp of making the finals only to be defeated by the eventual Cup champions. They're projected to be contenders again, and your fantasy team should take note.

Brian Boyle

Veteran Forward Brian Boyle Hoping to Catch on with Penguins

Boyle believed his body was sharp heading into the abbreviated 2020-21 season. Thirty-one NHL teams did not seem to agree. And so for the first time since 2008, Boyle found himself watching the league move on without him. He wants to change that for 2021-22.

Finale_de_la_coupe_de_France_de_Hockey_sur_glace_2013_-_001_-_Luc_Tardif (1)

Luc Tardif Elected IIHF President

French official Luc Tardif was elected president of the International Ice Hockey Federation on Saturday ahead of the return of NHL players to the Olympics in February.