Tollefsen, Thoresen included on Norway's Olympic hockey squad for Vancouver Games

Publish date:

OSLO, Norway - Philadelphia Flyers defenceman Ole-Kristian Tollefsen and former NHL forward Patrick Thoresen have been named to Norway's Olympic hockey squad for the 2010 Games in Vancouver.

Tollefsen and Thoresen were included in coach Roy Johansen's 23-man team Tuesday. The last time the Norwegians played hockey at the Olympics was in 1994 when they hosted the Games in Lillehammer.

The only survivor of that Lillehammer team is 39-year-old defenceman Tommy Jakobsen. He returned to Norway last summer after a 13-year career in Germany and Austria.

The Norwegians won a qualification tournament in Oslo in February.

Tollefsen, 25, is the fifth Norwegian-born player to play in the NHL and the second for the Flyers. Thoresen, 26, played in 21 regular-season games and 14 playoff contests for the Flyers in 2007-08. He now plays in the Russian league for Salavat Yulayev Ufa, and is sixth in scoring in the KHL.

Head coach Roy Johansen represented Norway in three Olympic Winter Games (1984, 1988, 1992).

Twenty-one out of the 23 Olympic squad named played for Norway in the 2009 World Championship.

Missing is veteran defenceman Anders Myrvold, whop played in the NHL for Colorado, Boston, the Islanders, and Detroit.

Eleven of the players come from the Swedish Elite league. Six players come from the Norwegian league, and three from Germany.

The German-based players are defencemen Mats Trygg of Koelner Haie and forwards Morten Ask and Tore Vikingstad of Thomas Sabo Tigers and Hannover Scorpions.


Goalkeepers: Pal Grotnes (Stjernen), Andre Lysenstoen (Haki), Ruben Smith (Storhamar).

Defencemen: Alexander Bonsaksen (Modo), Jonas Holos (Farjestad), Tommy Jakobsen (Lorenskog), Juha Kaunismaki (Stavanger Oilers), Lars Erik Lund (Valerenga), Ole Kristian Tollefsen (Philadelphia Flyers), Mats Trygg (Kolner Haie).

Forwards: Morten Ask (Thomas Sabo Tigers), Anders Bastiansen (Farjestad), Kristian Forsberg (Modo), Mads Hansen (Brynas), Marius Holtet (Farjestad), Lars Erik Spets (Valerenga), Mathis Olimb (Frolunda), Martin Roymark (Frolunda), Per-Age Skroder (Modo), Patrick Thoresen (Ufa Salavat), Tore Vikingstad (Hannover Scorpions), Martin Laumann Ylven (Linkoping), Mats Zuccarello Aasen (Modo).


Mattias and Hugo Havelid

Meet Sweden's Newest Power Hockey Twins

Sweden can claim to have the best twins in hockey history thanks to Daniel and Henrik Sedin. They're looking to bring the next two to the hockey forefront thanks to Mattias and Hugo Mattias Hävelid.

Hlinka-Gretzky Cup Logo

Hlinka-Gretzky Cup Roundup: Blowouts Highlight Second Day

A pair of 2023 NHL draft prospects lead the tournament in scoring, while Slovakia becomes the first team to hit double digits in a victory. All that and more, including Sweden's comeback victory over the United States.

PWHPA Dream Gap

PWHPA Announces Details for 2021-22 Season

The PWHPA will feature training hubs for the 2021-22 season and announced the return of the Dream Gap Tour.