When was the last Triple Crown? A full list of winners

Monday May 25th, 2015

American Pharoah is racing to become the first Triple Crown winner since 1978 in the Belmont Stakes on Saturday.

After winning both the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness Stakes, American Pharoah entered as the favorite to take the third leg of the Crown. The horse would become the 12th Triple Crown winner in history.

American Pharoah was the third horse in the last four years to win both the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness. In 2012, I'll Have Another had a shot at the Triple Crown but was scratched the day before the Belmont due to tendonitis.

Last year, California Chrome won the Derby and the Preakness before finishing in fourth at Belmont. 

Here is the full Triple Crown winner history:

1919  Sir Barton 
1930  Gallant Fox 
1935  Omaha 
1937  War Admiral 
1941  Whirlaway 
1943  Count Fleet
1946  Assault 
1948  Citation
1973  Secretariat 
1977  Seattle Slew
1978  Affirmed

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.