Garry Jones/AP Photo

Here is a list of the past winners of the Kentucky Derby. 

By SI Wire
May 03, 2016

Get breaking news and SI’s biggest stories instantly. Download the new Sports Illustrated app (iOS or Android) and personalize your experience by following your favorite teams and SI writers.

The 2016 Kentucky Derby will be held on Saturday at Churchill Downs.

Last year’s winner, American Pharoah, went on to become the first horse since Affirmed in 1978 to win the Triple Crown of the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes and Belmont Stakes.

This year’s favorite is the undefeated Nyquist at 10–3 odds. A strong challenge is expected from Exaggerator and Mohaymen at 8–1 odds.

Check out the past winners below:

Year:    Winner:      Jockey:      
2014    California Chrome       Victor Espinoza      
2013    Orb      Joel Rosario      
2012       I’ll Have Another      Mario Gutierrez      
2011    Animal Kingdom      John Velazquez      
2010    Super Saver       Calvin Borel      
2009    Mine That Bird      Calvin Borel      
2008    Big Brown      Kent Desormeaux      
2007     Street Sense      Calvin Borel      
2006    Barbaro       Edgar Prado      
2005    Giacomo      Mike E. Smith      
2004    Smarty Jones      Stewart Elliott      
2003    Funny Cide      Jose Santos      
2002    War Emblem      Victor Espinoza      
2001    Monarchos      Jorge F. Chavez      
2000    Fusaichi Pegasus      Kent Desormeaux      
1999     Charismatic      Chris Antley      
1998    Real Quiet       Kent Desormeaux      
1997    Silver Charm      Gary Stevens      
1996    Grindstone      Jerry Bailey      
1995    Thunder Gulch      Gary Stevens      
1994    Go for Gin      Chris McCarron      
1993 Sea Hero      Jerry Bailey      
1992 Lil E. Tee      Pat Day      
1991 Strike the Gold      Chris Antley      
1990 Unbridled      Craig Perret      
1989 Sunday Silence      Pat Valenzuela      
1988 Winning Colors       Gary Stevens      
1987 Alysheba      Chris McCarron      
1986 Ferdinand      Bill Shoemaker      
1985 Spend A Buck      Angel Cordero, Jr.      
1984 Swale      Laffit Pincay, Jr.      
1983 Sunny’s Halo      Eddie Delahoussaye      
1982 Gato Del Sol      Eddie Delahoussaye      
1981 Pleasant Colony      Jorge Velasquez      
1980 Genuine Risk       Jacinto Vasquez      
1979 Spectacular Bid      Ronnie Franklin      
1978 Affirmed       Steve Cauthen      
1977 Seattle Slew       Jean Cruguet      
1976 Bold Forbes      Angel Cordero, Jr.      
1975 Foolish Pleasure      Jacinto Vasquez      
1974 Cannonade      Angel Cordero, Jr.      
1973 Secretariat       Ron Turcotte      
1972 Riva Ridge       Ron Turcotte      
1971 Canonero II      Gustavo Avila      
1970 Dust Commander      Mike Manganello      
1969 Majestic Prince      Bill Hartack      
1968* Forward Pass      Ismael Valenzuela      
1967 Proud Clarion      Bobby Ussery      
1966 Kauai King      Don Brumfield      
1965 Lucky Debonair      Bill Shoemaker      
1964 Northern Dancer      Bill Hartack      
1963 Chateaugay      Braulio Baeza      
1962 Decidedly      Bill Hartack      
1961 Carry Back      Johnny Sellers      
1960 Venetian Way      Bill Hartack      
1959 Tomy Lee       Bill Shoemaker      
1958 Tim Tam      Ismael Valenzuela      
1957 Iron Liege      Bill Hartack      
1956 Needles      David Erb      
1955 Swaps      Bill Shoemaker      
1954 Determine      Raymond York      
1953 Dark Star       Hank Moreno      
1952 Hill Gail      Eddie Arcaro      
1951 Count Turf      Conn McCreary      
1950 Middleground      William Boland      
1949 Ponder      Steve Brooks      
1948 Citation       Eddie Arcaro      
1947 Jet Pilot      Eric Guerin      
1946 Assault       Warren Mehrtens      
1945 Hoop Jr.      Eddie Arcaro      
1944 Pensive      Conn McCreary      
1943 Count Fleet       Johnny Longden      
1942 Shut Out      Wayne D. Wright      
1941 Whirlaway       Eddie Arcaro      
1940 Gallahadion      Carroll Bierman      
1939 Johnstown      James Stout      
1938 Lawrin      Eddie Arcaro      
1937 War Admiral       Charley Kurtsinger      
1936 Bold Venture      Ira Hanford      
1935 Omaha       Willie Saunders      
1934 Cavalcade      Mack Garner      
1933 Brokers Tip      Don Meade      
1932 Burgoo King      Eugene James      
1931 Twenty Grand      Charley Kurtsinger      
1930 Gallant Fox       Earl Sande      
1929 Clyde Van Dusen      Linus McAtee      
1928 Reigh Count      Chick Lang      
1927 Whiskery      Linus McAtee      
1926 Bubbling Over      Albert Johnson      
1925 Flying Ebony      Earl Sande      
1924 Black Gold      J. D. Mooney      
1923 Zev      Earl Sande      
1922 Morvich      Albert Johnson      
1921 Behave Yourself      Charles Thompson      
1920 Paul Jones      Ted Rice      
1919 Sir Barton       Johnny Loftus      
1918 Exterminator      William Knapp      
1917 Omar Khayyam      Charles Borel      
1916 George Smith      Johnny Loftus      
1915 Regret       Joe Notter      
1914 Old Rosebud      John McCabe      
1913 Donerail      Roscoe Goose      
1912 Worth       Carroll H. Shilling      
1911 Meridian      George Archibald      
1910 Donau      Frederick Herbert      
1909 Wintergreen      Vincent Powers      
1908 Stone Street      Arthur Pickens      
1907 Pink Star      Andy Minder      
1906 Sir Huon      Roscoe Troxler      
1905 Agile      Jack Martin      
1904 Elwood      Shorty Prior      
1903 Judge Himes      Hal Booker      
1902 Alan-a-Dale      Jimmy Winkfield      
1901 His Eminence      Jimmy Winkfield      
1900 Lieut. Gibson       Jimmy Boland      
1899 Manuel         Fred Taral      
1898 Plaudit      Willie Simms      
1897 Typhoon II      Buttons Garner      
1896 Ben Brush      Willie Simms      
1895 Halma      Soup Perkins      
1894 Chant      Frank Goodale      
1893 Lookout      Eddie Kunze      
1892 Azra      Alonzo Clayton      
1891 Kingman      Isaac Murphy      
1890 Riley      Isaac Murphy      
1889 Spokane      Thomas Kiley      
1888 Macbeth II      George Covington      
1887 Montrose      Isaac Lewis      
1886 Ben Ali      Paul Duffy      
1885 Joe Cotton      Erskine Henderson      
1884 Buchanan      Isaac Murphy      
1883 Leonatus      Billy Donohue      
1882 Apollo      Babe Hurd      
1881 Hindoo      Jim McLaughlin      
1880 Fonso      George Lewis      
1879 Lord Murphy      Charlie Shauer      
1878 Day Star      Jimmy Carter      
1877 Baden-Baden      Billy Walker      
1876 Vagrant      Bobby Swim      
1875 Aristides      Oliver Lewis      

You May Like

Eagle (-2)
Birdie (-1)
Bogey (+1)
Double Bogey (+2)